Mayor of the Municipality of Paraćin


Mr. Saša Paunović is Mayor of the Municipality of Paraćin.

He was first elected to this position in 2004 and has been reelected in all of the local election ever since. Previously, he was the President of the Executive Committee of the Municipality of Paraćin (2000-2004). In 2009, he was first elected Chairman of the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities (SCTM), and then re-elected in December 2012 for a second term until December of 2014. Today he is a member of the Presidency of the SCTM. In 2009, he was awarded by the National Alliance of Local Economic Development (NALED) the "Reformer of the Year" award and in 2013 the Center for Research, Transparency and Accountability - CRTA awarded him the “ODGOVORno” prize for promoting accountability and transparency. Paunović has been a member of the Democratic Party since 1992. He has served as President of the party’s regional office, a member of the Executive Committee, President of the local branch of the Democratic Party in Paraćin since 2002, a member of the Presidency from 2010 till 2012, and Chairman of the party’s Committee for Local Self Government and Public Administration from 2012 till 2014. He graduated from the Faculty of Electronic Engineering of the University of Nis in 1995.